Image Alt

Grand Site de France Puy Mary – Volcan du Cantal

  /  Grand Site de France Puy Mary – Volcan du Cantal
Grand Site de France Puy Mary – Volcan du Cantal

To be Grand Site de France implies the sustainable preservation of a site for its manager; this does not mean in any way putting the territory under the bell. On the contrary, beyond the preservation and restoration of fragile but attractive emblematic landscapes, the manager must implement actions for the sustainable development of this territory in fields as varied as tourism, agriculture, outdoor activities… This is what the Grand Site de France Puy Mary – Volcan du Cantal is working on every day.

Opération Grand Site

In 1999, Operation Grand Site (OGS) was launched for Puy Mary. At the same time, the Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary was created, its mission will be to manage the site and obtain the label by 2010. The Opération Grand Site is an initiative proposed by the State to help local authorities with a, particularly remarkable site on their territory to restore and manage it. It is launched at the request of the local authorities concerned, who must organize themselves to take the approach forward.
Studies are carried out to assess the impact on the landscape, visitor numbers, the functioning of the area, etc. A concerted project is then drawn up and officially approved by the ministry de l’Écologie, du Développement durable et de l’Énergie in charge of the sites to enable its implementation.
Funding is generally granted by the general and regional councils associated with the project as well as by the State and Europe. The Grand Site is managed by the structure best able to represent it; if a new structure is created, operating resources are made available and staff is recruited to implement the approach.

The 4 prerequisites for initiating an Opération Grand Site approach:
  • be a classified site (protected by the law of 1930) ;
  • be an area of national interest: a remarkable landscape, symbolic or of widely recognized cultural significance;
  • be subject to periods of excessive use that could lead to the loss of the aesthetic, natural or cultural qualities that are at the origin of its reputation and classification;
  • be the subject of a desire for rehabilitation supported by a broad local consensus.
Goals of OGS are :
  • restore the site on the landscape plan ;
  • determine a sustainable and autonomous management policy;
  • allow the measures adopted to benefit local economic development.

On 12 December 2012, Puy Mary was awarded the “Grand Site de France” label by decree of the Minister of Ecology, Mrs. Delphine Batho. A Grand Site is an exceptional natural site, recognized at the national level and benefiting from a protection measure. It is recognized as a “classified site” under the law of 2 May 1930 on the protection of natural monuments and sites of an artistic, historical, scientific, legendary, or picturesque nature. Sublime or atypical, grandiose or intimate, subjugating or soothing, each Grand Site has its own “spirit”. The implementation of this legislation is the responsibility of the State and is part of the missions of the Ministry of Ecology, Sustainable Development and Energy.

Grand Site de France Label
Grands Sites are united around common challenges:
  • The preservation and restoration of fragile and attractive landscapes ;
  • The intelligent organization of intense traffic that needs to be managed and controlled;
  • The promotion of sustainable development values.

The Grand Site de France Puy Mary – Volcan du Cantal thus becomes the 12ᵉ Grand Site to obtain the label. In 2020, the Grand Site de France network, created in 2000, is now made up of 47 member Grand Sites: 21 labeled Grand Sites and 26 in the pipeline.

Carte du Réseau des Grands Sites de France

The label awarded for a period of 6 years to the managing body of the site (the Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary for the Grand Site de France Puy Mary – Volcan du Cantal) is renewable. Since 2018, the Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary has worked to renew the label. It was renewed on 8 April 2019 with the signing of the decree by François de Rugy, Minister for Ecological and Solidarity Transition. This renewal rewards the good management of the site by the Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary, the respect of the actions undertaken during the first labeling process have been carried out and the implementation of an action plan for the next 6 years in conjunction with all the partners of the approach.

At the end of 2020, the Grand Site de France Puy Mary – Volcan du Cantal covers 36,000 hectares, 13 members communes (spread over 4 EPCI and 5 cantons) and 4 associates (Laveissière, Lavigerie, Saint-Jacques-des-Blats, Thièzac). The Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary manages 5 Site Houses (Dienne, Le Claux, Le Falgoux, Mandailles-Saint-Julien, Pas de Peyrol) and two Pleine Nature resorts (Col de Serre & Mandailles-Saint-Julien).

During the first labeling period (2012-2018), the following actions were carried out:
  • Landscape enhancement: landscape and architectural requalification of the Massif passes, enhancement of geological sites, continued development of roads and their surroundings, and development of landscape discovery.
  • Development of the discovery of the volcano with the completion of the network of Site Houses and their associated museographies. The setting up of a European Charter for Sustainable Tourism dedicated to local tourism stakeholders, the development of reception and tourist offers, and reception areas for camper vans.
  • The improvement of the discovery of the Cantalien Massif, participation in the development of its reputation. With the experimentation of the Discovery Transport project, a public transport system supported and encouraged by the Ministry of Ecology and the Réseau des Grands Sites de France. It allows visitors and locals interested in this concept of soft mobility to free themselves from any traffic constraints and to fully enjoy the exceptional surrounding landscapes in complete serenity.
  • As the Grand Site de France Puy Mary – Volcan du Cantal is part of the perimeter of the “Coeur de Massif Cantalien” Outdoor Nature Resort, a whole range of summer/winter outdoor activities has been developed and enhanced on the Grand Site with the creation of the Maison des Activités de Pleine Nature at the Col de Serre, as well as that of Mandailles-Saint-Julien (managed by the CABA).
  • Economic development through the establishment of new tourism players in the Massif remains a priority for the Grand Site as it is a guarantee of job creation and sustainability for local services and for the revitalization of the villages.
For its renewal, the Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary has committed itself to a certain number of actions for the next 6 years.
  • Preserve the unique landscape and heritage of the Grand Site de France ;
  • Work to maintain a strong agricultural identity;
  • Maintaining a landscape and heritage unity ;
  • The exploitation and enhancement of the forest;
  • Control and management of flows, continue the action to reduce the impact of traffic and road infrastructures on the discovery of the landscape;
  • To take care of the elements that make up quality landscape roaming;
  • Reinforce alternative modes of access to the site, towards a mobility plan on the scale of the Cantalien Massif…;
  • Organize the transmission of knowledge, values, and wealth of the Grand Site de France;
  • From a volcanic landscape to the discovery of exceptional natural environments;
  • To bring the Grand Site de France to life, to organize its discovery through a network of Site Houses in evolution and a reinforced offer of interpretation;
  • A culture of identity that bears witness to the evolution of the landscape.
  • To support local activity in the communes of the Grand Site de France and to promote the Spirit of the Places;
  • The economic development of the valleys;
  • Tourism in keeping with the spirit of the place: giving priority to quality over quantity;
  • A landscape in practice: nature as a lever for economic and tourist development;
This action plan is broken down into a number of projects including :

Landscape requalification of the Pertus and Légal road passes; the setting up of a collective sheep pasture as well as the requalification of watering points; the labeling of the Impradine, Jordanne, Mars and Santoire rivers as “wild rivers”; the restoration of the Bédélat du Cassaïre, the development of mobility, the integration of new municipalities within the perimeter of the Grand Site and the structuring of the Pleine Nature offer…

A project tracking page, allows you to find out about projects already completed, those in progress, and future projects.

Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary

The Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary is the manager of the Grand Site de France Puy Mary – Volcan du Cantal. It was created in 1999 and has a Trade Union Committee made up of one representative from each commune of the Grand Site de France (13 in total), four representatives of the Cantal Departmental Council, and two representatives of the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Regional Council.
A team of permanent technicians implements the action plan defined during the labeling process. It is made up of four permanent employees and about fifteen seasonal workers present from April to October.

Les élus
Philippe Fabre

Philippe Fabre

President of the Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary

Mayor of Mandailles-Saint-Julien

Philippe Maurs

Philippe Maurs

1ˢᵗ Vice-President of the Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary

Mayor of Saint-Cirgues-de-Jordanne

Christophe Raynal

Christophe Raynal

2ᵈ Vice-President of the Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary

Mayor of Cheylade

Louis Chambon

Louis Chambon

3ʳᵈ Vice-President of the Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary

Mayor of Falgoux

Team of Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary
Jean Privat

Jean Privat

Director Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary

Julien Couty

Julien Couty

Communication Officer

Thomas Pissavy

Technical agent

Manon Salarnier

Manon Salarnier

In charge of secretariat and accounting

GRAND SITE

Accès / Webcam

Route d’accès

Fermées

Webcam

X

Image Alt

Grand Site de France Puy Mary – Volcan du Cantal

  /  Grand Site de France Puy Mary – Volcan du Cantal
Grand Site de France Puy Mary – Volcan du Cantal

Etre Grand Site de France, implique la préservation durable d’un site pour son gestionnaire ; cela ne signifie en aucun cas une mise sous cloche du territoire. Bien au contraire, au delà de la préservation et la restauration de paysages emblématiques fragiles mais attractifs, le gestionnaire se doit de mettre en oeuvre des actions de développement durable de ce territoire dans les domaines aussi variés que le tourisme, l’agriculture, les activités de pleine nature… C’est ce à quoi oeuvre tous les jours le Grand Site de France Puy Mary – Volcan du Cantal.

Opération Grand Site

En 1999, l’Opération Grand Site (OGS) est lancée pour le Puy Mary. En parallèle, le Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary est créé, il aura pour mission de gérer le site et d’obtenir la labélisation d’ici à 2010. L’Opération Grand Site est une démarche proposée par l’État pour aider, les collectivités territoriales disposant sur leur territoire d’un site particulièrement remarquable, à le restaurer et à le gérer. Son lancement se fait à la demande des collectivités concernées qui doivent s’organiser pour porter la démarche.
Des études sont réalisées pour évaluer l’impact paysager, de fréquentation, de fonctionnement du territoire… Un projet concerté est ensuite élaboré et reçoit la validation officielle par le ministère de l’Écologie, du Développement durable et de l’Énergie en charge des sites pour permettre sa mise en œuvre.
Des financements sont généralement accordés par les conseils généraux et régionaux qui sont associés au projet ainsi que par l’État et l’Europe. Le portage du Grand Site se fait par la structure la plus à même de le représenter ; si une nouvelle structure est créée, des moyens de fonctionnement sont mis à disposition et du personnel est recruté pour mettre en place la démarche.

Les 4 conditions préalables pour engager une démarche d’Opération Grand Site :
  • être un site classé (protégé par la loi de 1930) ;
  • être un espace d’intérêt national : paysage remarquable, symbolique ou d’une portée culturelle largement reconnue ;
  • connaître des périodes de fréquentation excessive risquant de lui faire perdre les qualités esthétiques, naturelles ou culturelles qui sont à l’origine de sa réputation et du classement ;
  • faire l’objet d’une volonté de réhabilitation soutenue par un large consensus local.
Les buts de l’OGS sont de :
  • restaurer le site sur le plan paysager ;
  • déterminer une politique de gestion durable et autonome ;
  • permettre que les mesures adoptées bénéficient au développement économique local.

Le 12 décembre 2012, le Puy Mary obtient le label « Grand Site de France » par décret de la ministre de l’Écologie, Madame Delphine Batho. Un Grand Site est un lieu naturel d’exception, reconnu au niveau national et bénéficiant d’une mesure de protection. Il est reconnu « site classé » au titre de la loi du 2 mai 1930 sur « la protection des monuments naturels et des sites de caractère artistique, historique, scientifique, légendaire ou pittoresque. Sublime ou atypique, grandiose ou intimiste, subjuguant ou apaisant, chaque Grand Site dégage un “esprit” qui lui est propre. La mise en œuvre de cette législation relève de la responsabilité de l’État et fait partie des missions du ministère de l’Écologie, du Développement durable et de l’Énergie.

Le label Grand Site de France
Les Grands Sites sont réunis autour de défis communs :
  • La préservation et la restauration de paysages fragiles et attractifs ;
  • L’organisation intelligente d’une fréquentation intense qu’il faut gérer et maitriser ;
  • La promotion des valeurs du développement durable.

Le Grand Site de France Puy Mary – Volcan du Cantal devient ainsi le 12ᵉ Grand Site a obtenir le label. En 2020, le réseau de Grand Site de France créé en 2000, est aujourd’hui composé de 47 Grands Sites membres : 21 Grands Sites labélisés et 26 en projet.

Carte du Réseau des Grands Sites de France
Carte du Réseau des Grands Sites de France

Le label décerné pour une durée de 6 ans à l’organisme gestionnaire du lieu (le Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary pour le Grand Site de France Puy Mary – Volcan du Cantal) est renouvelable. Dès 2018, le Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary a œuvré au renouvellement du label. Il l’a été le 8 avril 2019 par la signature du décret par François de Rugy, ministre de la Transition écologique et solidaire. Ce renouvellement récompense bonne gestion du site par le Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary, le respect des actions engagées lors de la première labélisation ont bien été menées et la mise en place d’un plan d’actions pour les 6 prochaines années en lien avec l’ensemble des partenaires de la démarche.

Depuis début 2021, le Grand Site de France Puy Mary – Volcan du Cantal s’étend sur 40 000 hectares, 17 communes membres (réparties sur 5 EPCI et 5 cantons). Le Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary gère 5 Maisons de Site (Dienne, Le Claux, Le Falgoux, Mandailles-Saint-Julien, Pas de Peyrol) et deux stations Pleine Nature (Col de Serre & Mandailles-Saint-Julien).

Durant la première période de labélisation (2012-2018), les actions suivantes ont été réalisées :
  • La mise en valeur du paysage : requalification paysagère et architecturale des cols du Massif, valorisation de sites géologiques, poursuite de la mise en valeur des routes et de leurs abords et développement de la découverte paysagère.
  • Le développement de la découverte du volcan avec la finalisation du réseau des Maisons de Site et de leurs muséographies associées. La mise en place d’une Charte européenne du tourisme durable dédiée aux acteurs touristiques locaux, le développement d’offres d’accueil et touristiques, d’aires d’accueil pour camping-cars.
  • L’amélioration de la découverte du Massif Cantalien, la participation au développement de sa notoriété. Avec l’expérimentation du projet de Transport découverte, système de transport collectif soutenu et encouragé par le ministère de l’Écologie et le Réseau des Grands Sites de France. Il permet aux visiteurs et locaux intéressés par ce concept de mobilité douce, de s’affranchir de toute contrainte de circulation et de profiter pleinement des paysages exceptionnels environnants en toute sérénité.
  • Le Grand Site de France Puy Mary – Volcan du Cantal faisant partie du périmètre de la Station de Pleine Nature “Cœur de Massif Cantalien”, c’est toute une diversité d’activités de pleine nature été/hiver qui a été mise en valeur et développée sur le Grand Site avec la création de la Maison des Activités de Pleine Nature au Col de Serre, ainsi que celle de Mandailles-Saint-Julien (gérée par la CABA).
  • Le développement économique à travers l’implantation de nouveaux acteurs touristiques sur le Massif reste une priorité pour le Grand Site puisqu’il est un gage de créations d’emploi et de pérennité pour les services de proximité et pour la revitalisation des villages.
Pour sa reconduction, le Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary s’est engagé sur un certain nombre d’actions pour les 6 prochaines années.
  • Préserver la singularité paysagère et patrimoniale du Grand Site de France ;
  • Travailler au maintien d’une identité agricole forte ;
  • Le maintien d’une unité paysagère et patrimoniale ;
  • L’exploitation et la valorisation de la forêt ;
  • Maitrise et gestion des flux, poursuivre l’action de réduction de l’impact de la circulation et des infrastructures routières sur la découverte des paysages ;
  • Soigner les éléments constitutifs d’une itinérance paysagère de qualité ;
  • Renforcer les modes alternatifs d’accès au site, vers un plan mobilité à l’échelle du Massif Cantalien. ;
  • Organiser la transmission de la connaissance, des valeurs et des richesses du Grand Site de France ;
  • D’un paysage volcanique à la découverte des milieux naturels exceptionnels ;
  • Faire vivre le Grand Site de France, organiser sa découverte à travers un réseau des Maisons de Site en évolution et une offre d’interprétation renforcée ;
  • Une culture identitaire témoin de l’évolution des paysages.
  • Soutenir l’activité locale dans les communes du Grand Site de France et valoriser l’Esprit des Lieux ;
  • Le développement économique des vallées ;
  • Un tourisme en accord avec l’esprit des lieux : privilégier la qualité à la quantité ;
  • Un paysage en pratique : la pleine nature comme levier du développement économique et touristique ;
Ce plan d’actions se décline en un certain nombre de projets dont :

Les requalifications paysagères des col routier du Pertus et de Légal ; la mise en place d’une estive ovine collective ainsi que la requalification des points d’abreuvements ; la labélisation des rivières de l’Impradine, de la Jordanne, du Mars et de la Santoire en “rivières sauvages” ; la restauration du Bédélat du Cassaïre, le développement de la mobilité, l’intégration de nouvelles communes dans le périmètre du Grand Site ou encore la structuration de l’offre de Pleine Nature…

Une page de suivi des projets, vous permet de connaitre les projets déjà réalisés, ceux en cours et les futurs.

Le Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary

Le Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary est le gestionnaire du Grand Site de France Puy Mary – Volcan du Cantal. Il fut créé en 1999 et dispose d’un Comité syndical composé d’un représentant de chaque commune du Grand Site de France (13 au total), de quatre représentants du Conseil départemental du Cantal et de deux représentants du Conseil Régional Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes.
Une équipe de techniciens permanents met en place le plan d’action défini lors de la labélisation. Elle comprend quatre salariés permanents, et une quinzaine de saisonniers présents d’avril à octobre.

Les élus
Philippe Fabre

Philippe Fabre

Président du Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary

Maire de Mandailles-Saint-Julien

Philippe Maurs

Philippe Maurs

1ᵉʳ Vice-Président du Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary

Maire de Saint-Cirgues-de-Jordanne

Christophe Raynal

Christophe Raynal

2ᵈ Vice-Président du Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary

Maire de Cheylade

Louis Chambon

Louis Chambon

3ᵉ Vice-Président du Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary

Maire du Falgoux

L’équipe du Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary
Jean Privat

Jean Privat

Directeur du Syndicat Mixte du Puy Mary

Julien Couty

Julien Couty

Chargé de communication

Portrait Emma Noblecourt

Emma Noblecourt

Chargée de mission pastoralisme

Thomas Pissavy

Thomas Pissavy

Agent technique

Manon Salarnier

Manon Salarnier

Chargée du secrétariat et de la comptabilité

GRAND SITE

Accès / Webcam

Webcam
Routes d’accès ouvertes
Sens circulation camping-cars

Septembre, 2021

X
X